Monday 11 March 2013

League of Legends Season 3 ranking system explained

Riot Games, the company behind League of Legends has recently introduced and updated the massively-popular eSports title with a new ranking system, dubbing the transition as Season 3. Previously, the ranking system is based on elo points and according to each games, your elo will be added depending on your wins and losses. Basically, the more you win, the more elo you get.

In season 3, however, League of legends has tweaked the ranking system to place a better emphasis on the actual ranks. Instead of merely adding elo points on your wins or loses, League of Legends Season 3 will be based around tiers:

The 6 tiers that have been updated into League of Legends Season 3.
  1. Bronze.
  2. Silver.
  3. Gold.
  4. Platinum.
  5. Diamond.
  6. Challenger.
According to the tiers, bronze will be the first (pretty obvious), followed by silver and so on until you reach the challenger tier. Tiers are set upon each players accordingly depending on how well the players play, which will in turn reward them with a badge under their profile. For example, if a player is on the silver tier, the players receive a silver badge indicating their current level of expertise.

Each LoL ladders consist of 250 players and each league/tier has 5 divisions. A division has 50 players. For example, if you have reached the silver tier, you will be placed in one of the 5 divisions from division 5 to division 1. The lower the number of division, the easier you will be able to advance to the next tier.

Advancing Division
To advance, players will need to win and reach a 100 league point (max), you will then need to beat a series of best of three. The best of three will determine whether a player is ready to advance to the next division.

Advancing Tier/League
On advancing to the next tier, a players need to reach division 1 and collect 100 league points again. Once you reach the max point, players will concede in the best of five match up. This will determine whether a player is ready to advance to the next league/ tier.

by Christopher Chan

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...